After Foreclosure: What is the Legal NJ Eviction Process?

nj eviction

What is a Sheriff’s Sale in NJ?

At Veitengruber Law, we understand the intricacies surrounding losing a property or navigating the options one may have when their property is in jeopardy. Part of understanding New Jersey law and the legal NJ eviction process may also involve understanding what a Sherriff’s Sale is, and we can help.

 

A Sheriff’s Sale in NJ is a sale handled by a Sheriff that is ordered by a court when the owner has unsuccessfully paid the judgment. According to New Jersey law, a Sheriff’s Sale is navigated within the local rules of each County Sheriff’s Department, and takes place at each said office. Anyone interested in purchasing a Sheriff’s Sale property can easily find the list of real estate properties available online at the county court website or at the actual Sheriff’s Department during normal business hours.

 

A Sheriff’s Sale (when referring to real estate) generally involves a property that is in danger of/or in foreclosure. The property is sold “as is” and any money generated from the Sheriff’s Sale is applied toward the outstanding lien owed on the judgment. If someone were to become the highest bidder at the sale, they would be required to place a deposit on the property, while understanding the risk of losing the property and part of the deposit in accordance with New Jersey law. The risk of the buyer losing the property has to do with the New Jersey law that states the debtor has a 10 day redemption period in which they may try to pay the lien and recover their property or object to the sale formally through court. If the 10 day redemption period expires and the new buyer pays the the sale price in full, the transaction is deemed complete and the title will then be given to the buyer.


What Happens Next?

The process following a Sherriff’s Sale can be confusing and frustrating, but we can expertly help you navigate this next phase. Once the new owner is in possession of the deed to the home, they cannot simply “kick you out” – this is illegal and would be considered an Unlawful Detainer. New Jersey law has specific rules about the eviction process and the steps that must occur for official eviction to take place.

 

The first step the new buyer must take is to file for a Writ of Possession which allows the County Sherriff to evict any occupants of the home. The County Sherriff then has to deliver notice to the occupants, at which point you have several choices. You could wait out the 30-90 day time-frame and attempt to save money to be prepared to move out of the property. Another option for you may be to ask for “cash for keys” where the new buyer may be inclined to cover moving out expenses for you to leave the home sooner. Veitengruber Law could also help you navigate other options such as a hearing to stay the eviction in front of a judge where you would appear before the judge with valid concrete reasons to postpone the eviction. The final resort could be filing a bankruptcy petition, in which case an automatic stay would occur and the eviction process would be halted indefinitely.

 

How Do I Determine What is the Best Option?

 

Veitengruber Law can help you understand all of your options, and we strongly urge you to take advantage of our expertise! Call today for your FREE one-hour comprehensive consultation to start understanding what the right answer is for YOU.

 

 

 

 

 

 

Advertisements

We Broke Up but She Refuses to Move Out: NJ Eviction Laws

nj eviction

Renting an apartment, condominium or house is a great option for people who aren’t ready to buy a home yet. If you signed your rental agreement as the only tenant, what happens if you meet someone and get into a serious relationship? Most landlords are with your significant other moving in with you, as long as they are informed ahead of time.

It’s such a fun time – moving in together, setting up house and talking about the future of your relationship. Will you get married? Have kids? Perhaps the two of you even take drives, hunting for your ideal NJ town as you consider growing a family together. What type of house would the two of you buy if you got married? Do you want a yard or a pool? Two-car garage or one?

Many relationships that begin just that way go on to enjoy happy marriages, producing one or several offspring, growing older together and watching children meet milestone after milestone. However, what if your ending isn’t of the happy variety?

Of course, not all relationships work out – even when you’ve gone so far as to move in together. In fact, the act of moving in together can sometimes be the straw that breaks the camel’s back; cohabitating is a great way to find out if you’re really compatible.

So, here you are: sharing your rented space with your significant other, and things go south. It’s beyond a fight – the relationship is over and beyond repair. Ideally, since you are the lessee and your girlfriend or boyfriend moved in with you, they would yield to your rights to the apartment and move out.

Sometimes, especially if you had a seemingly ‘perfect’ romantic relationship, breaking up is hard to do. Let’s be honest: breaking up is always difficult, but certain people may be less willing to let go without a fight, making an already challenging situation seemingly futile.

What can you do if your significant other (S.O.) decides to make breaking up impossible?

Your name is on the lease. Your relationship has ended, but your S.O. refuses to move out. Without physically picking her up and carrying all of her stuff to the curb (we specifically do not recommend this strategy) – how can you get your space back so that you can move on?

The bad news is, your relationship didn’t pan out the way you’d hoped and dreamed it would. The good news is, you’re not going to be stuck living with an ex forever, even if they throw a fit and resist moving out of your place.

Can I take legal action to remove my ex from my home?

You can! Ding! Ding! Ding! The fact that you solely leased the property and your S.O. is not named on the lease means you can file an Ejectment Action. In New Jersey, eviction law states that an Ejectment is appropriate when a (non-tenant) roommate to whom you are not married refuses to leave. Since they have no legal rights to remain living there, an Ejectment Action is the only recourse.

Because of the intense emotions surrounding kicking out an ex or loved one (Ejectment Actions can also be used to remove other friends or family members who refuse to leave), they have a high potential for contention. It is important that you are aware of this so that you remain calm and distance yourself from any action(s) that may prompt your S.O. to file a complaint against you for domestic violence. If this occurs, you may find yourself jointly kicked out of the rental.